Charles M. Hill, Sr. Award Winners

Since 1999, the Wisconsin Collaborative for Affordable Housing, during the annual A Home for Everyone conference, has presented an award to an individual who has exhibited a life-long effort of dedication and excellence in the creation of affordable housing in Wisconsin.

This award is the Charles M. Hill, Sr. Award for Housing Excellence, named after Mr. Hill in honor of his lifetime commitment to affordable housing. Mr. Hill is the former Executive Vice President of Community Investment for the Federal Home Loan Bank of Chicago, where he guided the bank’s affordable housing effort since the program’s inception in the late 1970s. Previous to that, Mr. Hill was critical to the development of effective housing programs emanating out of the ‘War on Poverty’ … both with local organizations and in state government.

Previous winners of the Charles M. Hill Sr. Award for Housing Excellence:

2023Walter OrzechowskiFormer Executive Director, Southwestern Wisconsin Community Action Program (SWCAP)
2022Mary WrightPresident, Wisconsin Housing Preservation Corp.
2019Martha L. BrownDeputy Commissioner, City of Milwaukee
2018Keith PamperinFormer Executive Director, Housing Authority of Green Bay and Brown County
2017Bob JonesExecutive Director, WISCAP
2016Grace JonesExecutive Director, Couleecap
2015Dean LoumosExecutive Director, Housing Initiatives
2014Joe SchirmerDivision of Public Health, State of Wisconsin
2013Peter KildeExecutive Director, West CAP
2012Dan O’ConnellExecutive Director, Astar Capital Management
2011Marty EvansonDirector, Bureau of Supportive Housing, State of Wisconsin
2010Dave PorterfieldReal Estate Developer, Movin’ Out
2009Brenda KonkelExecutive Director, Tenant Resource Center
2009Bill PerkinsExecutive Director, Wisconsin Partnership for Housing Development
2008Judy WilcoxSection Chief, Bureau of Supportive Housing, State of Wisconsin
2007Organization AwardMilwaukee Housing Trust Fund Coalition
2006Sandy DevlinUS Dept of Housing and Urban Development, Wisconsin Field Office
2005Marcie BrostHousing Specialist, Department of Health
2004Kim TerryHousing Educator and Advocate
2003Fritz RufFormer Executive Director, WHEDA
2002Karl PnazekPresident and CEO, CAP Services
2001Bob MoserUS Dept of Housing and Urban Development, Wisconsin Field Office
2000Tim RadeletAttorney, Foley & Lardner LLP
1999John FranzenExecutive Director, Oshkosh Housing Authority

At the first A Home for Everyone conference in 1997, Carmen Porco, CEO of Housing Ministries of American Baptists – Wisconsin, received a statewide housing achievement award. In 1998, at the second housing conference, an award of appreciation was given to Charles M. Hill, Sr., Executive Vice-President of the Federal Home Loan Bank of Chicago. The following year, in 1999, the Charles M. Hill, Sr. Award for Housing Excellence was instituted.