Charles M. Hill, Sr. Award

We are currently taking applications for the 2018 Charles M.  Hill Sr. Award for Housing Excellence. This award recognizes an individual whose entire body of work in the housing field, over a career or series of years, reflects a commitment to advocacy for affordable housing and has had a lasting impact on bettering the cause of affordable housing.

The individual should have had success in one or more of the following areas:

  1. Creation or support of affordable housing;
  2. Implementation of housing-related programs;
  3. Creation of innovative financing mechanism(s);
  4. Support for homebuyer education/counseling or for other training;
  5. Help to others in solving housing problems; or
  6. Creation of legislation or public policy furthering affordable housing.

Please nominate someone today via this survey link!



Year Award Winner Affiliation
1999 John Franzen Executive Director, Oshkosh Housing Authority
2000 Tim Radelet Attorney, Foley and Lardner
2001 Bob Moser USHUD, Wisconsin Field Office
2002 Karl Pnazek President and CEO, CAP Services
2003 Fritz Ruf ED, WHEDA and ED Wisconsin Housing Preservation Corporation
2004 Kim Terry Housing Educator and Advocate
2005 Marcie Brost Housing Specialist, Bureau of Developmental Disabilities Services, Wisconsin Department of Health and Human Services
2006 Sandy Devlin USHUD, Wisconsin Field Office
2007 Milwaukee Housing Trust Fund Coalition
2008 Judy Wilcox Section Chief, Bureau of Supportive Housing, Division of Housing and Community Development, State of Wisconsin
2009 Bill Perkins

Brenda Konkel

ED, Wisconsin Partnership for Housing Development

ED, Tenant Resource Center

2010 Dave Porterfield Real Estate Developer, Movin’Out
2011 Marty Evanson Director, Bureau of Supportive Housing, Division of Housing, State of Wisconsin
2012 Dan O’Connell Executive Vice President, Aster Capital Management
2013 Peter Kilde ED, West Central Wisconsin Community Action Agency, Inc. (WESTCAP)
2014 Joe Schirmer Division of Public Health, State of Wisconsin
2015 Dean Loumos ED, Housing Initiatives
2016 Grace Jones ED, Couleecap, Inc.
2017 Bob Jones ED, WISCAP